NDC MP bares state newspaper for publishing infomercial about pro-LGBTQ + group



Rockson-Nelson Dafeamekpor, Member of Parliament for South Dayi

Rockson-Nelson Dafeamekpor, MP for South Dayi denounced the state newspaper Daily Graphic for publishing an infomercial for the coalition against the anti-LGBTQ + bill.

In the newspaper’s October 18, 2021 issue, eight pages were set aside as an infomercial for the group’s memo which explains its opposition to the anti-LGBTQ + bill, calling for its rejection and promoting LGBTQ + rights in the country.

Relying on his handling of social media, Rockson-Nelson Dafeamekpor said that for a state-owned newspaper he should have a stance against such things.

According to him, the publication could expose Ghanaian children to homosexuality and also indoctrinate them into the practice.

He criticized the board of directors and the editorial staff of the press firm for not supporting the position of the supporters of the anti-LGBTQ + bill.

“Our dear Daily Graphic today published an 8-page infomercial on the pro-gay Memo. Certainly our children will read it at school and reorient themselves towards gayism. It is a criminal attack on the conscience of the Nation. Shame on the editor and board of Daily Graphic, ”he said. Background

Parliament is expected to debate a private member’s bill introduced by some eight MPs. The 38-page bill states, among other things, that persons of the same sex who have sex are “liable, on summary conviction, to a fine of at least seven hundred and fifty units of sentence and to not more than five thousand units of sentence, or a term of imprisonment of at least three years and not more than five years or both.

The bill targets people who “present themselves as lesbian, gay, transgender, transsexual, queer, pansexual, ally, non-binary identity or any other sexual or gender identity contrary to binary categories and female.

The bill also targets promoters and defenders of LGBTQ + rights, including “a person who, through the use of media, a technology platform, a technology account or any other means, produces, purchases, markets, broadcasts, broadcasts, publishes or distributes material for promotional purposes. an activity prohibited under the bill, or a person uses an electronic device, the Internet service, a film or any other device capable of electronic storage or transmission to produce, procure, market, broadcast, broadcast, publish or distribute material for the purpose of promoting an activity prohibited by the bill ”, as well as a person who“ encourages, supports sympathy or a change of public opinion with respect to an act prohibited by the bill ”. law “.

Within the framework of its provisions, the bill specifies that an offender can be sentenced to a term of imprisonment of at least six years or of not more than ten years. Following the public support that the bill received, a group of academics and other professionals expressed their opposition to the bill.

According to the Group of 18, the Bill “Promotion of Appropriate Human Sexual Rights and Ghanaian Family Values”, once passed, would erode a series of basic human rights enshrined in the 1992 Constitution.

Members of the group opposing the anti-gay bill include Mr. Akoto Ampaw; author, scholar and former director of the United Nations Economic Commission for Africa, Professor Emerita Takyiwaa Manuh; an expert in communication and media, Professor Kwame Karikari; the Dean of the Faculty of Law at the University of Ghana (Legon), Professor Raymond Atuguba, and the former Dean of the Faculty of Information and Communication Studies at the University of Ghana, Professor Audrey Gadzekpo.

The Director of the Institute of African Studies, University of Ghana, Professor Dzodzi Tsikata; the Executive Director of the Ghana Center for Democratic Development (CDD-Ghana), Professor H. Kwasi Prempeh, and a former Executive Director of CDD-Ghana, Professor Kofi Gyimah-Boadi, are also members of the group. The other members are Dr. Rose Mensah-Kutin, Dr. Yao Graham, Mr. Kwasi Adu Amankwah, Dr. Kojo Asante, Mr. Kingsley Ofei-Nkansah, Mr. Akunu Dake, Mr. Tetteh Hormeku-Ajie, Dr. Charles Wereko -Brobby, Dr Joseph Asunka and Nana Ama Agyemang Asante.



Comments are closed.